Hashtag Women

I came out of a strong and willful woman. Delivered to this world by a midwife. Helped by female nurses. Was brought home to be nannied by a naive woman. Every day, my aunts, ninangs, and lolas visited to pinch my cheeks making sure I made the right responses.

Growing up, I was taught how to be respectful, honest, helpful, hopeful, patient, a person who shows love towards his enemies and mercy to those who are weakened by greed and power, unafraid of making steps to making myself a little better each day which eventually shall contribute in making our world a better place. More women than men have taught me all of the things I mentioned and more…

International Women’s Day happened three days past. And it made me think how the social media hashtagged about these women who may have contributed one way or the other in making us, men and women, who we are today.

I searched #women and these are hashtags that caught my attention:

Equality
Girlpower
Healthcare
Safety

Womensmarch
Gendergap
Beauty
Age

Violence against women
Honestlymodern
Climatechange
Walkinhershoes

Daywithoutawoman
Be bold for change
Honorourvets
Strongwomen

Love
Inspiring women
Women rock
Women will

And so many more concepts to describe what women think about what they bring to this world. What men feel should be the correct terms to support women’s advocacies toward making this world a conducive place to live in for them, their spouses and partners, and their children.

Do you feel the need to add more?

Leave a Reply

